In brief

Shelter-in-place or stay-at-home orders have been prevalent throughout the United States since March 2020 as state and local governments have sought to protect their citizens from the spread of the COVID-19 virus while at the same time reopen their economies in accordance with phased reopening plans. Keeping abreast of the evolving nature of these orders and plans as the spread of the virus continues to evolve is critical to the functioning of all businesses throughout the country.

Baker McKenzie has a team in place that has been advising clients real-time on these most critical issues since the first orders were enacted. We are pleased to provide this Tracker, which identifies the relevant state-wide shelter-in-place orders and their related expiration dates, as well as the applicable state-wide reopening plans, in each of the 50 United States plus Washington, D.C. The “What’s Open” table on each page highlights the reopening status of four major sectors (office, manufacturing, retail and bars/restaurants).

In addition, the Tracker includes links to the relevant quarantine requirements or recommendations for incoming travelers in each state plus Washington, D.C.

Key developments reflected in this week’s update to the Tracker include the following:

  • The following states extended their state-wide orders and/or the duration of the current phase of their reopening plans: Alaska, Kentucky, Oklahoma, Tennessee and Wyoming.
  • The following states imposed more stringent limitations on gatherings, reduced capacities for certain businesses and establishments and/or recommended residents stay at home: Illinois, Iowa, Maine, Maryland, Minnesota, Montana, New Jersey, New Mexico, Rhode Island and Virginia. No states moved to the next phase of their reopening plans.
  • The following states issued new or more stringent face mask requirements: California, Hawaii, Iowa, Kansas, New Hampshire and Wisconsin.
  • New Jersey modified its COVID-19 travel quarantine list to add Vermont. The list currently includes 46 states and territories. In addition, Pennsylvania issued a travel order requiring anyone visiting or returning to have a negative COVID-19 test within 72 hours prior to entering the commonwealth, or quarantine for 14 days upon arrival.
  • In happier news, starting November 24, travelers wanting to bypass Hawai‘i‘s 14-day mandatory quarantine can do so with a COVID-19 test result from a trusted travel partner, prior to departure to the islands.

Please call or email your regular Baker McKenzie contact if you require additional analysis regarding these matters.

Last updated November 20th,  2020

Download US Shelter-In-Place / Reopening Tracker

Previous articleUnited States: Proposed California Regulation Confirms Taxation of Nonresident, Non-Employee Director Compensation based on Corporation’s Domicile
Next articleInternational: COVID-19 – Government Intervention Schemes Guide