Shelter-in-place or stay-at-home orders have been prevalent throughout the United States since March 2020 as state and local governments have sought to protect their citizens from the spread of the COVID-19 virus while at the same time reopen their economies in accordance with phased reopening plans. Keeping abreast of the evolving nature of these orders and plans as the spread of the virus continues to evolve is critical to the functioning of all businesses throughout the country.

Baker McKenzie has a team in place that has been advising clients real-time on these most critical issues since the first orders were enacted. We are pleased to provide this Tracker, which identifies the relevant state-wide shelter-in-place orders and their related expiration dates, as well as the applicable state-wide reopening plans, in each of the 50 United States plus Washington, D.C. The “What’s Open” table on each page highlights the reopening status of four major sectors (office, manufacturing, retail and bars/restaurants).

In addition, the Tracker includes links to the relevant quarantine requirements or recommendations for incoming travelers in each state plus Washington, D.C.

Key developments reflected in this week’s update to the Tracker include the following:

      • The Governors of Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, Montana, South Carolina, Vermont and Wyoming extended their emergency declaration orders and/or the duration of the current phase of their reopening plans.
      • The Governors of Arizona and Utah announced new guidelines for the next phase of their respective state reopening plans.
      • The Governor of New Hampshire issued an order that requires face coverings at scheduled gatherings of more than 100 individuals.
      • The Governors of Connecticut, New Jersey and New York modified their tri-state COVID-19 travel quarantine list to add two more states (Hawaii and South Dakota) and one territory (US Virgin Islands), and to remove five states (Alaska, New Mexico, Ohio, Rhode Island and Washington). The tri-state list currently includes 33 jurisdictions.

Please call or email your regular Baker McKenzie contact if you require additional analysis regarding these matters.

Last updated August 14, 2020


Previous articleAsia Pacific Employment and Compensation Webinars
Next articleNorth America Tax News and Developments – July 2020