Washington, DC at the White House and Lafayette Square.

Shelter-in-place or stay-at-home orders have been prevalent throughout the United States since March 2020 as state and local governments have sought to protect their citizens from the spread of the COVID-19 virus. With the spread appearing to slow in parts of the US, several states are now implementing plans to relax these orders and reopen their economies. Keeping up with the evolving nature of these orders and plans is critical to the functioning of all businesses throughout the country.

We are pleased to provide this tracker, which identifies the relevant state-wide shelter-in-place orders and their related expiration dates, as well as the applicable state-wide reopening plans, in each of the 50 United States plus Washington, D.C.

While most states continue to encourage or even require telework or work-from-home where possible, many states continue to gradually reopen sectors of their economies as indicated in the “What’s Open?” table, which we have added to each page to highlight the reopening status of four major sectors (office, manufacturing, retail and bars/restaurants).

Please check back for regular updates.

This week, the tracker reflects these latest developments:

  • The governors of several states extended their shelter-in-place/emergency declaration orders, including California, Georgia, New Mexico, South Carolina, Vermont and Wyoming.
  • The governors of New York, Oregon, Washington and West Virginia rolled back certain reopening measures, mainly with respect to social gatherings and, in the case of New York, outdoor drinking at bars and restaurants.
  • The governors of Alabama and Montana issued new orders requiring face masks to be worn in certain public and/or indoor spaces.
  • Only Utah proceeded to the next phase of its reopening plan, while New York City will enter a limited new phase of reopening on July 20.
  • Connecticut, New Jersey and New York expanded the number of states from which travelers will be subject to a 14-day self-quarantine (the list now includes 22 states), while Rhode Island implemented a travel advisory requiring anyone traveling to the state from a state with a COVID-19 positivity rate greater than 5% to self-quarantine for 14 days.
  • Lastly, people looking to escape to Hawaii might have to put their travel plans on hold as the governor postponed implementation of a plan to allow mainland and international travelers to bypass the state’s mandatory 14-day quarantine, previously set to begin on August 1, 2020, to September 1, 2020. The plan would allow incoming travelers who provide a valid negative COVID-19 test result from a test taken within 72 hours of arrival to avoid Hawaii’s 14-day quarantine.

Please call or email your regular Baker McKenzie contact if you require additional analysis regarding these matters.

Last updated July 17, 2020



Previous articleGlobal: Off the Shelf: The Global Consumer Goods & Retail Industry Podcast
Next articleHong Kong: National Security Law in Hong Kong: Implementation Rules for Article 43