City of San Francisco Cityscape. Downtown San Francisco, California, United States.

Shelter-in-place or stay-at-home orders have been prevalent throughout the United States since March 2020 as state and local governments have sought to protect their citizens from the spread of the COVID-19 virus while at the same time reopen their economies in accordance with phased reopening plans. Keeping abreast of the evolving nature of these orders and plans as the spread of the virus continues to evolve is critical to the functioning of all businesses throughout the country.

Baker McKenzie has a team in place that has been advising clients real-time on these most critical issues since the first orders were enacted. We are pleased to provide this tracker, which identifies the relevant state-wide shelter-in-place orders and their related expiration dates, as well as the applicable state-wide reopening plans, in each of the 50 United States plus Washington, D.C. The “What’s Open” table on each page highlights the reopening status of four major sectors (office, manufacturing, retail and bars/restaurants).

In addition, the tracker includes links to the relevant quarantine requirements or recommendations for incoming travelers in each state plus Washington, D.C.

Key developments reflected in this week’s update to the tracker include the following:

  • The Governors of Alabama, Georgia, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Tennessee and Wyoming extended their emergency declaration orders and/or the duration of the current phase of their reopening plans.
  • Massachusetts and North Carolina moved to the next phase of their respective reopening plans.
  • New orders were issued or existing orders were amended in Iowa, Maryland, Nevada, New York and South Carolina that allow for the reopening of, or increased capacity at, certain sports and entertainment venues, bars and restaurants.
  • The Governors of Connecticut, New Jersey and New York modified their tri-state COVID-19 travel quarantine list to add Colorado and remove Arizona and Virginia. The tri-state list currently includes 34 states and territories.
  • The Governor of New York also issued a new order that requires travelers entering New York from any country with a Level 2 or Level 3 health notice as designated by the CDC to quarantine for 14 days.
  • The Michigan Supreme Court ruled on October 2, 2020 that Governor Gretchen Whitmer had no authority to issue or renew executive orders related to COVID-19 beyond April 30, 2020. On October 4, 2020, Michigan Attorney General Dana Nessel announced she would no longer enforce the Governor’s orders by criminal prosecution.

Please call or email your regular Baker McKenzie contact if you require additional analysis regarding these matters.

Last updated 2 October 2020


Previous articleUnited Kingdom: COVID-19 – CCO investigations continue despite impact of Covid-19
Next articleGlobal Private M&A Guide